An extract from
Hipperholme to Tong
The vale of Shibden is a most delightful one, it abounds in beautiful scenery and historic halls. Those who are wishful for a pleasant ramble can take through Shibden Fold, near to the tram line at Stump Cross, and en route pass many historic houses, when we reach the old Shibden Spa House, and then we come to the
” ANCIENT SHIBDEN MILL INN,”
which used to be kept by a woman called ” Dolly Bottomley,” and is familiarly known by that name. The scenery around here in summer is charming. In one of the rooms of the Inn is the date 1643, or 261 years ago. It is an ancient place.
Shibden at one period of its history had four worsted mills. Three of these have been burnt down and not re-built, and the fourth fell into disuse. The following were the names of the mills :-
THOMAS TAY LOR & Co., Dam Head Mill, was burnt down in 1810, and again on August 22nd, 1870.
The mill at this period was an old three-storeyed one.
THOMAS BOTTOMLEY Shibden Mill (near the Inn).
JONATHAN BUTTERFIELD, Godley Bridge Mill.
ROBERT MIDGLEY, Salterley Mill. Going forward we pass on our right
SCOUT HALL, OR SPOUT HALL, SHIBDEN HALL.
SCOUT HALL, SHIBDEN DALE.
Photo by Mr. Win. Fisher, Crown Inn, Horton Bank Top.
Scout Hall, as it is generally called, is situated in the heart of Shibden Dale, and is a large three-storeyed square building, built about 1680. There is a tradition about this hall that at one period of its history, it contained as many windows as days in a year, viz., 365 windows. This statement is erroneous as it contained 52 windows, representing so many weeks in a year, and 365 window panes, representing so many days in a year.
Over the centre doorway is a rude carving of a fox and hounds, which, no doubt, was meant to illustrate the coat of arms of the owner. It is supposed to have been built by a man named John Mitchell, who was given to horse racing, gambling, and drinking. After walking a short distance, we come to Sim Carr Tea Gardens, and also to Lower Limed House, where excellent refreshments may be had at reasonable charges ; then we come to Upper Limed House, and proceed along a rustic lane. The view of Shibden Dale from here is charming, Upper Shibden Hall and old Upper Shibden Hall, or now called Hanging Royde, being objects of interest in the landscape.
In turning the road, we pass the Queensbury District Council Sewage Works.